Thursday, January 31, 2013

Patty Andrews Dead: Last Surviving Member Of The Andrews Sisters Dies At 94

The last surviving member of the Andrews Sisters trio, Patty Andrews, passed away on Wednesday at her home in Los Angeles. She was 94.

The sisters performed with "Patty always singing the lead, Maxene the high harmony and LaVerne the low harmony, inventing a unique blend that came from their hearts, since none of the girls could read music," according to the sister's official  biography.

Andrews and her siblings LaVerne and Maxene sold more than 80 million records during a career that stretched from the 1920s to the late 1960s. They're perhaps best known for entertaining Allied troops and selling war bonds and boosting morale on the home front during World War II – along with their 1941 hit "The Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy," which the Recording Industry of America ranked at Number Six on a list of 25 "Songs of the Century."

The sisters also made a dozen low-budget musical comedy movies with Universal Pictures between 1940-44, and they appeared with Bing Crosby and Bob Hope in the 1947 movie The Road to Rio.

Patty is survived by a foster daughter, a niece and several cousins.

Monday, January 21, 2013

Destiny's Child Announces New Single "Nuclear"

Destiny's Child, a R&B supergroup consisting of Beyoncé Knowles, Kelly Rowland and Michelle Williams, announced on Thursday that they will be releasing a compilation album later this month, which contains the first new song they've recorded since 2004.

"We are so proud to announce the first original Destiny's Child music in eight years," a post on the group's Facebook page read.

The song, titled "Nuclear," will appear on Destiny's Child's 14-track album, titled "Love Songs,"which is composed of romantic-themed songs the trio recorded between 1997-2004.

Sony Legacy will be releasing it January 29, 2013.

Check out the full tracklist below.

1. "Cater 2 U" ("Destiny Fulfilled" (2004))
2. "Killing Time" ("Destiny's Child" (1998))
3. "Second Nature" ("Destiny's Child" (1998))
4. "Heaven" ("Simply Deep" (2002))
5. "Now That She's Gone" ("The Writing's On The Wall" (1999))
6. "Brown Eyes" ("Survivor" (2001))
7. "If" ( "Destiny Fulfilled" (2004))
8. "Emotion" ("Survivor" (2001))
9. "If You Leave (featuring Next)" ("The Writing's On The Wall" (1999))
10. "T-Shirt" ("Destiny Fulfilled" (2004))
11. "Temptation" ("The Writing's On The Wall" (1999))
12. "Say My Name" (Timbaland remix) ("This Is The Remix" (2002))
13. "Love" ("Destiny Fulfilled" (2004))
14. "Nuclear" ("Destiny's Child - Love Songs" (2013))

Monday, January 7, 2013

Adele’s ‘21’ Best-Selling Album for Second Year

The British singer’s “21” was the highest-selling album in the U.S. for the second consecutive year, according to 2012 sales figures released by Nielsen SoundScan. That’s a first in the SoundScan era, which began tracking music sales in 1991.

According to figures released Thursday, Adele's "21" sold 4.4 million copies in the United States last year, after selling 5.8 million in 2011. The second-biggest album of 2012 was Taylor Swift’s “Red," with 3.1 million sales. One Direction's breakthrough debut album "Up All Night" is 2012's third-biggest set with 1.62 million sold.

For the first time since 2008, no Christmas albums rank among the year's top 10 sellers. 2012's biggest holiday set was Rod Stewart's "Merry Christmas, Baby," which finishes at No. 15 with 858,000 sold.

Gotye scored the year’s top-selling song with “Somebody That I Used To Know” featuring Kimbra. The song was downloaded a record 6.8 million times. Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Call Me Maybe” was next at 6.5 million. Both songs are the first to cross the 6 million digital sales mark, while fun. came close with 5.9 million downloads of  “We Are Young” featuring Janelle Monae.

Forty-one songs crossed the 2 million download mark, helping drive digital and overall sales to a new high even as album sales began to drop.